Superbowl Night!

I am not a football fan.  I have never enjoyed going to football games or watching them on television, probably because I’ve never learned the game.  But I am excited about this game because it is so close to home – Indianapolis!  In spite of my ignorance of all things football, this excitement surrounding the city is contagious and I feel it even here in my living room as I watch the pregame coverage and prepare for tonite’s exercise in gluttony.  I’ll be honest. What I am looking forward most to tonight are the hilarious commercials and the food.  This is one of the few nights of the year I can indulge in oh-so-unhealthy manfood.  Right now I am making venison sliders with caramelized onions and sharp cheddar, cream cheese and Monterrey jack stuffed jalapenos wrapped in bacon and glazed in barbecue sauce (which my husband will put on his slider, I’m sure), tortilla chips with queso blanco and homemade salsa, and pepperoni bread.  That’s right – no salad!  No veggie tray!  No girlie dips!   Just carbs, cheese, and fatty meats.  Tomorrow is another day.  It is Monday, which is a great day to start all over with my calorie journaling.

pepperoni bread

2 comments on “Superbowl Night!

  1. Glenda Haste says:

    Next angel food cake you make – with blackberry sauce – “post” – a delight to the eyes and the palate! “Neighbor across the field”

  2. butcherbakerhomemaker says:

    Thank you, neighbor! I will make sure I do a post about angel food cake soon!

Leave a comment